Home » Sunday Saves » SS: Sunday Saves (#73) World Mental Health Day Edition.

SS: Sunday Saves (#73) World Mental Health Day Edition.

sunday-saves

Happy Sunday everyone! I hope you’re having a lovely day too, and a lovely weekend overall. Today’s Sunday Saves is quite a special one; I didn’t write a post for this year’s World Mental Health Day but I thought I would incorporate it into this week’s Sunday Saves. I’m featuring ten posts that I have read over the week (including this morning) that talks about mental health in many forms.

1) Becloumar (Focusing On The Small Things. #MentalHealthAwarenessDay)

Rebecca’s post for World Mental Health Day focuses on the small things and this is something that really sticks with me. I much prefer having a cup of tea and a chocolate bar while watching something on TV rather than a big night out (but that’s just me) but even those little things help tremendously with my mental health. She shares the little things that make her happy and I can definitely relate to quite a lot of them.

2) A Carers Perspective (What’s My Name Again? Losing My Identity As A Carer)

I have no idea about the life of a carer so reading Ann Marie’s story about looking after your mental health while looking after someone is very important for anyone to read. She talks about losing herself, losing her identity and even hating the person that she was becoming so she gives a few tips to those who are in the same position as her

3) Sparkles and Stretchmarks (Blue Monday and Seasonal Sadness – Are They Real?)

I wanted to include this post, not only because it relates to mental health but because I feel like over the coming months, it might be something that some people may experience in the coming months. Hayley talks about how she thought her feelings could be related to pre-natal depression and she could start to see a pattern with seasonal sadness instead. I’m not sure a lot of people really know what seasonal sadness feels like, because Christmas isn’t always so happy and festive for everyone, and I think it’s important to learn from stories like Hayley’s.

4) The Rose Glow (Anxiety: What Not To Say)

“Don’t worry” is one of the most stressful things someone can say to me when I’m very anxious and Alice seems to capture this very well in her post. She talks about some of the things that she’s been told by friends and family that can affect you more than you think, and believe me, I can definitely relate!

5) She’s A Writer (A Musing Or Two On World Mental Health Day)

I relate to Sarah so much through this post because she talks about not only how the conversation of mental health has changed over the last fifty years but also because she talks about her CBT experience. As someone going through CBT myself, I always like reading someone else’s experience and how it has impacted them.

6) Elle JC (Anxiety And Me)

Laura’s short post about anxiety gives an overview of how anxiety can play in your head and it’s one that I relate to. One little thought can spiral out of control but I think it’s important that Laura has not only spoken about how it has negatively affected her but the positives that have came out of it too.

7) My Little Brushneen Blog (Mental Health Awareness: My Story)

Kayleigh tells her story of being diagnosed with G.A.D (also known as Generalised Anxiety Disorder) before and after the diagnosis. It’s quite a lengthy post but I love that she goes into so much detail because it can be quite a hard thing to talk about, and I really love that she has opened herself up so much about her journey.

8) Made By Steffie B (Drowning)

Steffie’s post is definitely an emotional one; she talks about her struggles with IVF, babies and how this has impacted her mental health. I can’t imagine how she feels but with her post, we get a glimpse into this journey that her and her partner have currently been going through.

9) Adventure and Anxiety (Mental Health In The Workplace – #WorldMentalHealthDay)

The theme of this year’s World Mental Health Day was well-being in the workplace so I thought it was very appropriate to include Beth’s post. Unfortunately for Beth, it seems like she hasn’t had very much support in some of her job roles when it comes to dealing with her mental health. She gives statistics on how mental health can play a huge part in your life in the workplace as well as some of her own experiences, which are quite sad that some employers don’t see the impact that they can have on someone.

10) Sarah’s Chapter (T5W: Books With Mental Health)

If you’ve been the reader of the blog for a while or you know me in real life, you’ll know I’m not much of a reader. I would love to be but I can never find the time and I get really tired. However, I thought Sarah’s post about mental health books was really interesting; I haven’t read any of the books that she has featured but “Reasons To Stay Alive” sounds like a really good one (and she has a full review on that particular book so I’ll be giving that a read too!)

I thoroughly enjoyed reading all these posts discussing mental health, their lives and how it affects them. Mental health affects each and every one of us; positively and negatively and I think these posts just prove that everyone has a story.

One thought on “SS: Sunday Saves (#73) World Mental Health Day Edition.

  1. Pingback: SS: Sunday Saves (#74) | RetroSnowflakes

Leave a Reply

