Home » Sunday Saves » SS: Sunday Saves (#41)

SS: Sunday Saves (#41)

sunday-saves

Welcome back to another Sunday Saves, the forty first edition too! This week I’ll be talking about Twitter Chats, feeling lost in your twenties and why saying no isn’t the worst thing in the world. As always, if you’ve missed any of my other Sunday Saves, they’ll all be linked right here!

1. Half Girl Half Teacup (The Problem with Blogging Chats)

I love Twitter chats; they are one of the best ways to connect with so many other bloggers in such a short amount of time. However, they can be a little more stressful than I would like. I use TweetDeck so I set up a separate column to show me all the tweets associated with a certain hashtag but depending on how popular the chat is, I can barely keep up. I don’t agree with all of Jess’ points in her post but I definitely agree with timings; sometimes if I’m even ten minutes late, I think “I’m already late, is there any point?”. In terms of promoting your posts in a chat you’re not taking part in, I can see both sides of the argument. Yes, it’s frustrating as hell but take the example of the #lbloggers chat; for the most part, that’s the first hashtag I’ll use and I don’t mean to promote a post during that chat but it can happen when I’ve scheduled a tweet and I’ve completely forgotten. Twitter chats for the most part are wonderful and I would urge anyone to take part, just prepare to be overwhelmed with masses of tweets!

2. Lauren the Daydreamer (Feeling Lost in Your Twenties)

Oh I had so many expectations for my twenties and I haven’t hit one of them but over time, I’ve come to accept that. My life was so different when I was eighteen and I thought by twenty five, my life was going to be complete and I wasn’t going to be in this limbo I’m currently in. Well, my life couldn’t have turned out any more opposite than that vision. To be fair, when you’re eighteen, you think you have it all figured out (like I thought I did) so I don’t pay too much attention to my past vision of myself but I think it’s always funny to look back and think “Wow, this is not where I thought I would be back then.” I think almost every single person in their twenties goes through this so I like how people like Lauren are normalising feeling completely lost, because it’s so natural and it’s nothing to be afraid of.

3. Liza Tait-Bailey (Saying No Doesn’t Make You A Bad Person)

I think the title of Liza’s post says it all, doesn’t it? I am guilty of this, saying yes to things when I feel like I’ve taken on too much already. This year in particular, I’ve chosen to put myself first and not put myself under too much pressure and I feel like this is exactly what Liza is saying. You’re not the worst person in the world if you can’t do something; sometimes we don’t have the time, sometimes we don’t feel like it or we just simply don’t want to. We live in a society that will never be perfect and therefore, you will never be able to please everyone so if you take on those fifty things that need done for Monday, you probably won’t be thanked for putting yourself under all that stress. Doesn’t seem so worth it now, does it? There are exceptions to every rule of course but sometimes you want to put yourself first and that’s perfectly okay.

That’s all for today’s post! Remember to click everyone’s links because it’s so important to support the blogger community wherever we can plus they’re really great posts.

2 thoughts on “SS: Sunday Saves (#41)

Leave a Reply

