Home » Food and Drink » Intolerances » What I Eat In A Day: Veganuary Style.

What I Eat In A Day: Veganuary Style.

In my New Year’s Resolutions, my first resolution was to complete Veganuary, and I did it! If you’re not sure what Veganuary is, it’s a movement within the Vegan community to encourage you to try eating vegan for the month of January. Of course, if you want to try it in March or August, you totally can too.

πŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’š

I became vegetarian in March last year (which you can read about here)Β and I haven’t touched meat since. If you read my blog post, you’ll read that I was never passionate about eating meat so going vegetarian wasn’t a huge life change for me. The majority of my meals last year were vegan so trying out Veganuary this year wasn’t too difficult for me; I knew what meals I could make myself and I knew what changes I would need to make at certain restaurants if I wanted to make the meal vegan.

I’ll take you through a typical “What I Eat in a Day” gluten free vegan style. Full disclaimer, I’m not a nutritionist or dietitian, I’m not trained in any health or nutrition field so I’m not saying this is what you should eat, it’s just what I chose to eat. I just have to put that out there before I start…

To tie into this actually, I started Veganuary in my new place so it was nice not having to worry about anyone else’s food. I could cook when I wanted without disturbing anyone else and I think that helped, because when I was at home I always had to be cautious especially when it came to having enough room in the cupboards or the fridge. Seems really silly but it does make an impact when you cook a lot.

πŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’š

So my meals are very simple and I tend to have the same thing every weekday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Other people might get really bored with eating the same thing but I like the routine around it. For breakfast, I have porridge (My favourite is the Gluten Free Quaker Oats) with banana and maple syrup. Very very simple, but it warms me up on the early mornings and it takes less than five minutes to make, what more could you want from a breakfast? I normally use a coconut milk or a rice milk because they tend to have a creamier taste and it goes nicely with porridge.

wp-1487441939426.jpg

Next up is my mid-morning snack. I only tend to have this when I’m at work because I have my breakfast between 6am-6:30am so when it gets to about 10:30am, I’m pretty hungry again. This contains one apple (Green are my favourite!), Nature’s Path Gluten Free Granola and Koko Strawberry Yoghurt. Most granolas use honey but thankfully this one doesn’t, so vegan friendly. Just make sure you buy the Pumpkin, Raisin and Almond one (it’s an orange packet) because the Strawberry, Blueberry and Raspberry one uses honey, so be careful. I love the Koko yoghurts because most dairy free yoghurts use soy instead of milk so finding a yoghurt that didn’t use that was so great. I’ve tried the CoYo yoghurt before but I find it very expensive and it’s far too thick for me.

wp-1487441939427.jpg

Now for lunch, I don’t have a picture but I can promise you, it’s not very visually pleasing but I can show you the packaging of it (The picture below is not mine, here’s the source). I have three Nutribix and if you don’t know what Nutribix are, they are basically Weetabix without the wheat and gluten. They’re a little smaller than Weetabix so I have three mashed up with coconut milk and a banana. Yes, very boring, but it’s healthy and it ties me over for a few hours.

tumblr_inline_nu0gh1OlKS1sk3s13_1280.jpg

Dinner time is probably my favourite meal of the day and with good reason, it’s so filling and it satisfies me for the rest of the night. It’s my vegan bean chilli that I’ve been making for probably almost a year; I first discovered the recipe last year in my Deliciously Ella book and I have loved it ever since. I’m always changing it up from the original so I’m going to put it up on the blog as my modified version, but it’s delicious! It uses lots of beans, some vegetables, a mix of spices, chopped tomatoes and a healthy helping of rice. I’ve started to add some tortilla chips to it and I normally have a wrap with mine too.

wp-1487441939425.jpg

In terms of snacks, I try and not snack but there are exceptions. On a Friday or Saturday night I treat myself to a few squares of my favourite chocolate, Ombar. It’s gluten free, vegan and it uses cacao rather than cocoa so it’s perfect for me. Other than that, if I need a snack, I’ll grab some fruit or if I have a Nakd bar in the house, I’ll grab that. I’ve found since moving out that I don’t tend to snack as much but that’s probably more toΒ do with the fact that if I don’t buy it, it’s not in the house.

wp-1487443892121.jpg

For tea, I drink a lot of green and herbal teas. I’ve been doing that for well over two or three years now so not having a regular cup of tea with milk hasn’t bothered me too much. I used to love a good traditional English Breakfast tea, anyone that knows me knows I was always having a cup of tea. I have tried so many more tea brands (thanks to the Book and a Brew subscription) and because I got a lot of new tea for Christmas, I’ve been exploring new flavours and I haven’t thought about ‘regular’ tea. I have tried to use different milks for English Breakfast but it’s not the same so I don’t even try to make it similar now.

Of course, water has always been essential to me, I track it using my FitBit app and I always try and hit that target. I find that during the work week, I can hit it before finishing up at 5pm but the weekend’s are my downfall. I don’t drink any fizzy drinks so water is my only other drink of choice apart from tea.

πŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’š

So that was a look at my traditional “What I Eat In A Day”, I did still go out for meals and lunches sometimes but if I wasn’t out, this was what I was eating a lot of the time.
My next blog post along the Veganuary lines will be my thoughts on the whole month and what’s next, but if you haven’t caught up on my “Becoming a Vegetarian” post, you should give it a read and I’ll link my “What’s Next” post here when it’s up. I hope you enjoyed a little insight into my eating habits during the month and if you took part in Veganuary, let me know below or over at @RetroSnowflakeΒ on Twitter.

12 thoughts on “What I Eat In A Day: Veganuary Style.

  1. I love reading things like this, as a vegetarian myself, I haven’t touched meat since I was 18 and now I’m 26. Thanks for sharing. πŸ’—

    Like

  2. I tried to go vegan once, lasted about 6 weeks. But ended up only eating fruit and salad. Although I’m not vegan, I will however will be checking out your vegetarian post and hopefully make the change soon.

    Like

    • I think that’s a misconception about being vegan; some people think that you can only eat fruit and vegetables in a small number of ways. It’s all about being creative about it! Thank you for reading, I hope it inspires you in the future to make the change πŸ’š

      Like

  3. I loved this post Victoria, definitely useful for me right now as I want to eat better and incorporate more vegan meals into my diet as I love vegan food, so this is really useful for me. I love chili, so I will definitely have to try out the vegan chili you showed above, as well as the Ombar, that sounds really nice. I definitely need to drink more water, as I find that when I do I have more energy and I feel so much better, and it stops me form getting those mid-afternoon headaches and slumps, so you’re definitely right to mention it here too. It’s one of those really simple things, but it makes a huge difference, so thanks for the reminder! – Tasha

    Like

    • Awww Natasha, thank you so much for this lovely comment! ❀ I’ll be posting up the recipe to it but you can find the original version in one of Deliciously Ella’s books. The Ombar chocolate is amazing! The Coco milk one is the closest to milk chocolate and I think it tastes much better actually.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Well done you! I think transitioning from Vegetarianism to Veganism can be a lot easier than going straight from meat eating to being Vegan, but either way people tend to misunderstand how much they can actually eat. It isn’t just apples and grass haha.
    It looks like you really took advantage of a good range of foods too. That’s the downside to being a fussy eater…there isn’t much for me to choose from ever, not just vegan-wise.

    Drinking is a huge downfall for me! The amount of times the doctor has told me I’m dehydrated :/ oops. Again I’m fussy though. I don’t like tea, coffee or fizzy drinks. I guess that’s a good thing in the long run πŸ˜›

    Looking forward to hearing more about your experience πŸ™‚

    xo

    Like

    • Thank you so much for reading Danielle! I can’t imagine going from eating meat to just going straight to vegan, I’m sure it might be quite overwhelming. I would recommend coming down in stages; in my experience, it’s made it such an easier transition. The misconceptions of being vegan are shocking sometimes, you just have to get creative with the fruit and vegetables, and most of the time, it’s actually nicer.

      I’m a tea and water girl, I couldn’t be without them. One of my best friends hates tea and I just can’t understand it lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

