Home » New Year's Resolutions » ❤ My 2017 New Year’s Resolutions ❤

❤ My 2017 New Year’s Resolutions ❤

Happy New Year everyone! Welcome to 2017! It’s the year we’ve all been waiting for. I hope you all have a lovely year this year!

It’s Sunday today which means there’s normally a Sunday Saves but I wanted to post about my 2017 New Year’s Resolutions instead. Next week Sunday Saves will resume, and if you come back tomorrow, you’ll see a reflection of my 2016 Resolutions. (I’ll link it here when it’s live!)

1) Take part in Veganuary.
First and fore most because this starts in January, I’ll be participating in Veganuary. I’m planning on doing a blog post later on in the week about what exactly Veganuary is and about how I became vegetarian because I haven’t talked about it on the blog yet.

2) Create a morning and evening routine.
Having a morning and evening routine is one of the most important parts of a healthy lifestyle in my opinion but yet, I don’t have either. I want to get up earlier and achieve more with my morning before I go to work. I want to have a healthier attitude to ‘bedtime’ and have a set routine that can settle me down for the night.

3) Create a sleep routine.
This ties in with the morning and evening routine goal. Over the past nine months or so, on an average work day, I have lived on about four or five hours sleep a day. It’s not healthy, I know it’s not. Every part of me has felt the effects so I’m committed to going to bed earlier and getting up earlier too. I’m slowly killing myself otherwise.

4) Meditate more.
Ideally, I would love to do a ten minute meditation in the morning and in the evening but I don’t want to throw myself in to such a big task at first. One meditation every other morning would suit me at the beginning of the year at first and then I would want to build it up to once or twice a day.

5) Practice more yoga at home.
Okay, so I’ve covered getting into yoga and advancing yoga over the past few years but I want to take that even further by making sure I practice yoga at home rather than just in the studio once a week.

6) Live in the moment.
This is really important to me because I am either so stuck in the past or the future. I never take time to appreciate where I am right now and how far I have come. I always float back to my past and how I can’t change it or I race to the future thinking “Okay, I need to be here in the least amount of time”. I really need to take each day as it comes, go with the flow of life and take it in my stride.

7) Expand my knowledge on mindfulness.
Through therapy and reading mental health blogs, I have been really interested in learning more about mindfulness and the techniques behind it. I tend to participate in it quite often but I would like to make it a daily routine of mine because when I do, I genuinely feel better about myself. So I want to practice it as well as do my own reading and research into the ‘science’ behind it too.

8) Keep a Happy Jar for the year.
I love this idea! I featured a jar like this on one of my recent Sunday Saves but I found a post that explains it more, so if you click here, you’ll see it. I’ll do a blog post on mine once I have it decorated!


If you have a New Year’s Resolutions or Goals posts or videos, please send me them via the comments below or over on my Twitter, I love finding out about everyone else’s goals!

13 thoughts on “❤ My 2017 New Year’s Resolutions ❤

    • Thank you so much, I hope you have a good New Year too!

      Not living in the moment has damaged my happiness in the past few months so I really want to build that up again and not worry so much about what’s going to happen in the future. Just focus on now 😊

      Like

  1. Happy New Year!!

    Good luck for Veganuary! I hope you enjoy it a lot. As a vegan, I am always excited to hear about people giving veganism a go!

    I have a terrible routine at the moment, but I am hoping to rectify that starting tomorrow, nothing like a good Monday morning to keep start a new routine in life. I’m just hoping for a better schedule to life altogether, but I’ll settle for the morning at the moment.

    Here’s to living in the moment and a wonderful 2017!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for commenting and I hope you have a lovely New Year too!

      I find veganism so fascinating: a lot of people don’t understand it and those seem to be the people that will berate it and constantly make fun of it. My ex-boyfriend was vegan so I normally ate vegan when we were together so thankfully I’m not going into this blind, I have a good idea what I’m doing which is great!

      I have a terrible routine at the minute too but I need to change it because I don’t know how much longer I can go on four or five hours a sleep a night. It’s a dark hole!

      Like

  2. Great goals! I did the happiness jar a few years ago and it was great – so lovely to look back on all the lovely things that happened over the year at the end of it. Good luck, and happy new year! x

    Like

  3. Happy New Year! Great goals. I’m definitely being more mindful in terms of my thoughts! They can really consume me sometimes! Going to check out that happy jar you mentioned!
    XX Jen

    Like

  4. Pingback: Why I Enjoy Yoga. | RetroSnowflakes

  5. Pingback: Becoming a vegetarian. | RetroSnowflakes

  6. Pingback: What I Eat In A Day: Veganuary Style. | RetroSnowflakes

Leave a Reply

