Home » Seasonal Occasions » Blogmas » (Blogmas Day Five) The Christmas Tag.

(Blogmas Day Five) The Christmas Tag.

Blogmas Day Five already! So today’s Blogmas post is a Christmas tag I found thanks to It’s Me Shenan. She didn’t tag me specifically, she left it open to anyone who was reading her blog, so I thought I would join in because it looked like an interesting one. If you decide to do it, please let me know because I want to read your answers too! You can read Shenan’s post right here.

What is your favourite Christmas film?

My favourite Christmas film which I talked about very briefly in my last Blogmas post is the Santa Clause, starring Tim Allen. As I said in my last post, one of my Blogmas posts will be about that film, because I want to go into more detail about it.

Have you ever had a white Christmas?

I can’t remember the year but we have had a number of White Christmas’. Living in Northern Ireland, we could get a wet rainy Christmas and then have snow fall heavily in March or April. (Yes, this actually happened a few years ago!)

Where do you usually spend your Christmas?

I normally spend Christmas at home. There was one, maybe two years that I spent Christmas at my (now) ex-fiance’s house but other than that, it’s always been at my Mum’s house.

What is your favourite Christmas song?i

I honestly don’t have a favourite Christmas song; I quite like Michael Buble’s Christmas music but I love the classics, I don’t think we’ll ever have iconic Christmas songs like that again.

Can you name all of Father Christmas’ reindeer? (No cheating!)

Rudolph, Prancer, Blitzen… How do I not know Santa’s reindeers?

The Tree: Real or Fake?

Fake! We’ve always had a fake tree; it’s cheaper in the long run, it’s easy to put up and it’s not as messy.

Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions?

I do! Every year I would sit with a cup of tea (It used to be a hot chocolate but now it’s just tea) and watch the Santa Clause.

Be honest, do you prefer giving or receiving gifts?

There’s nothing I love more than giving presents. To be honest, it’s not even the giving, it’s more the researching aspect of it all and finding the perfect present for someone. I love it!

The best Christmas gift you’ve ever received?

My Nintendo 64, hands down! It’s one of those things I’ll never ever give away.

What is your dream place to visit for the festive season?

Am I being cliché by saying New York? I’m sure it’s a nightmare at Christmas mind you but in my dreams it looks so beautiful and romantic.

Most memorable Christmas moment?

I have quite an embarrassing moment. One of the times I was at my ex fiance’s house for Christmas and we were in Morrisons maybe a week or so before Christmas. It was around the time Toy Story 3 was out so every shop had loads of Toy Story 3 merchandise. Stewart pointed out the Buzz Lightyear and said “Oh no I don’t really like him.” He looked at me very shocked and asked why. I said that I loved the character but the new action figures looked so fake and they just lost their touch. We were with his Mum at the time too and they looked at each other in horror but I thought nothing of it. So fast forward to Christmas Day, I’m opening my presents and I open one of very last ones, and it’s Buzz. I was so surprised, I said “Oh my god, thank you, he’s great!” Stewart turned round to me and said something along the lines of he knows that I hate it but he had already bought it before he knew how I felt. Not exactly a heartfelt, cute moment but definitely memorable!

Are you a pro-present wrapper or do you fail miserably?

I would say I’m pretty good at it but I have to have all the wrapping paper and gift tags the same. I really love seeing all the presents match each other.

What made you realise the truth about Father Christmas?

I don’t remember anything specific, I just remember not believing any more but I wasn’t told by a friend in school or anything like that.

Do you make New Year’s Resolutions? Do you stick to them?

I am a sucker for New Year’s Resolutions. I made some last year and posted them on the blog but I didn’t stick to too many of them. I’m debating whether to do them again or not though. For me, it’s a lot of fun thinking what I want to do in the future. (But at the same time, thinking about the future scares me!)

What is your favourite part of Christmas?

My favourite part is honestly having time off work, not having to wake up really early and just being able to take it easy for a while. It’s as simple as that really.

I love doing tags so if you know of any Winter or Christmas tags, send me a link over at @RetroSnowflake or leave me a comment!

One thought on “(Blogmas Day Five) The Christmas Tag.

  1. Okay, my blog isn’t a lifestyle one and I’ve planned and publicised my posts already but I like the idea of answering these so here I go:

    What is your favourite Christmas film? – Fred Claus. I know it’s one of the few things we disagree on but I love it! Scrooged and On Her Majesty’s Secret Service are close runners-up.

    Have you ever had a white Christmas? – Three times I think; once as a small child, once in my late teens and once about six or so years ago. The middle one surprised us all as there was no sign of it at all on Christmas Eve but we woke up and Whitehead was white!

    Where do you usually spend your Christmas? – Back in my old hometown of Whitehead with all of my family, staying at my parents’ flat on Christmas Eve. Great to get out of the city and down by the sea at this time of year. The air is so crisp and fresh!

    What is your favourite Christmas song? – It seems to change every year, as previously it’s been All I Need is Love by Cee Lo Green and The Muppets (haha) or Put a Little Love in Your Heart (from Scrooged) by Al Green & Annie Lennox, but this year it’s Shakin’ Stevens’ Merry Christmas Everyone!

    Can you name all of Father Christmas’ reindeer? (No cheating!) – Add Donner to the three you’ve mentioned and that’s all I know! Actually I’d forgotten Prancer too…

    The Tree: Real or Fake? – I loved having a real one as a kid and I was so, so tempted this year (the smell, easy to put up) but I kept to my usual fake one, but I do love it. Maybe next year.

    Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions? – I used to go into the centre of Belfast for a morning coffee with a friend and relax while all the people around us flapped about in a panic, but that doesn’t happen anymore. Last few years I’ve joined a few friends for an hour or two in Carrickfergus for a Coke or two before heading to my parents, that’s about it.

    Be honest, do you prefer giving or receiving gifts? – Oh we all love receiving presents too! But yeah I love the giving and the look on people’s faces when they see what I’ve got them as I do try to take time to hunt out the perfect gifts in the couple of months leading up to Christmas.

    The best Christmas gift you’ve ever received? – My Commodore 64 in 1991 with a cassette recorder and a few games. Loved it so much I even bought one again last year and blog about it!

    What is your dream place to visit for the festive season? – I can’t imagine myself going away during Christmas, I love being home as I don’t go anywhere near as much these days. But if I was to go away I’d say New York for the snow, ice rinks and the movie-like feel, or for something different there’s Hawaii for dinner on the beach, swimming with sharks and loads of traditional Hawaii food.

    Most memorable Christmas moment? – I was about 7 or 8 and had asked for an electric Thomas the Tank Engine Hornby train set. The wooden board was in our front living room and a note had been left on the door as I was worried Santa wouldn’t know where to leave it. As per usual my brother and sisters and I got up at the crack of dawn and assembled in the biggest bedroom to open our stockings and stayed there for as long as possible before waking mum and dad. Then we each had to get washed, and wait at the top of the stairs (where I could see the door where my train set would hopefully be and the other living room where everything else was) for everyone else to wash before we went down as a family. I remember there was a scrawny note on my piece of paper, written in a pen which was clearly nearly done, a “thank you” from Santa! I couldn’t believe it and I kept that! Then rushed in to see the train set already set up!

    Are you a pro-present wrapper or do you fail miserably? – I’m great! Well I think so anyway. I do have a tendency to wrap cylindrical presents as giant crackers though.

    What made you realise the truth about Father Christmas? – Sitting in my Aunt May’s house around Halloween reading my Oink! comic and she and my mum thinking I was too absorbed to hear them discuss whether I believed or not. I then pretended for that year just in case I got less presents!

    Do you make New Year’s Resolutions? Do you stick to them? – I started making them two years ago and did really well… but then this year threw a lot of surprises at me and I haven’t kept this year’s. So 50% so far!

    What is your favourite part of Christmas? – I’ve saved up leave these last few years to have lots of time off too. I love the festive shopping leading up to it, the whole ‘feeling’ of Christmas throughout December, seeing loads of family and friends and giving the presents. Plus it’s also the one time of the year I allow myself to gorge out on lots of treats and stuff. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

