Home » Food and Drink » The Cacao, Banana and Peanut Butter Smoothie Twist!

The Cacao, Banana and Peanut Butter Smoothie Twist!

If you have follow me on Instagram or read my tweets, you’ll know that I love a good smoothie and I tend to stick to the same one over and over and over again. I started off with a cacao, banana and peanut butter then when I was in a relationship, we went with a banana and spinach (and I did end up adding in cacao and peanut butter) but now I’m back on the cacao, peanut butter and banana train (but with a twist!). So I thought I’d bring you my recipe for my favourite smoothie!

It’s gluten free, vegetarian AND vegan and if you need to swap out any ingredients, tell me which ones you use so I can give them a go!

smoothie2

The ingredients for one magical smoothie (For two people, just double the ingredients!)

  • One banana.
  • One to one a half handfuls of spinach.
  • Two stalks of mint leaves.
  • One table spoon of peanut butter.
  • One table spoon of raw cacao powder.
  • One table spoon of chia seeds.
  • One to two cups of almond milk (or until the ingredients are covered, depending on how big your blender cup is!)

When I first started to make these, I also used to add in one table spoon of pea protein but I don’t have any left! So if you want to add in your protein for after the gym, you could too! And if you want more of a stronger mint flavour, take your cacao powder down to half a tablespoon instead!

I normally drink these in the morning; it has the healthy fats of the peanut butter, the creaminess of the almond milk and the sweetness of the banana but I also love them as a post-workout treat (which is where the protein powder would come in handy, if you’re into your fitness or protein powder in general!)

Do you have any smoothie recipes that you think I should give a go? Tweet me or leave me a comment below!

Leave a Reply

