Home » Travel » Travel Tips: Part One

Travel Tips: Part One

Travel Plane1

So, as you may know (if you’ve seen my constant tweets, Instagram mania or blog posts mentioning I was on holiday), I went on holiday and it was my first adult holiday. When I say ‘adult holiday’, I don’t mean that in a risqué way (of course!), I mean it as in this is the first holiday I went on as an adult without being accompanied by school teachers. I went on a weekend trip down to Dublin in September but I don’t really count that as a holiday.

As you can see by the title, this is Part One of the travel tips I thought I could share for someone else maybe going on holiday for the first time or maybe travelling somewhere new.

1. Going online isn’t always your best option.

They always say that you should research where to eat, where to eat, where all the cool places are but I don’t think you should stick to that completely. We found a majority of the nice places on our own when we just wondered round the city. And even when we did research and tried to get Google to help us get to those places, we always seen somewhere on our adventures and went in there for a nosey. (If we didn’t stay there, we noted it down and went back later!)

2. Bring snacks with you!

I’m gluten free, have several other intolerances and vegetarian, while my boyfriend is vegan so truth be told, I was certainly worried about not being able to find a lot of places to eat. The day before we left for our holiday, we bought ourselves some snacks just to put in our suitcase, in case we ran into trouble and really couldn’t find anything.

3. Take lots of pictures.

I say this for two reasons:
1. We all love memories. We all love looking back and thinking “That was such a good meal, where was that again?” or “That museum was so interesting, where was that again?” I’m all for “living in the moment” but when you’re somewhere new and exciting, it’s nice to get your camera out all the time if you find something that you really like or you want to show friends and family back home. There’s no harm in it.

2. Be aware of your surroundings. Do you think you’re going to get lost getting back to your hotel (or wherever you’re staying). Take pictures of places, shops, sculptures, art, street names; anything that’s near your hotel so it’s almost like a picture version of a map. Just in case you really can’t remember how to get back.

4. Post some postcards!

If you’re away from your family for a while, being able to text them or Facebook is nice but to receive a little momento from you while you’re on holiday is something that they will really appreciate and probably keep forever. Depending on where you are going if you have access to postcards and being able to post letters etc. but if you’re in a country where you can do that, then I think it’s a really nice idea. When I wrote mine, I just told them something that happened that day or what we were planning on doing that night. You don’t have to tell your life story, just a moment or a memory of being away.

5. Write reviews.

Whether it’s on their Facebook page or TripAdvisor, it’s not only helpful to the business to find out what you thought of them, but it’s also amazingly helpful to someone who is thinking of going there. For example, if I want to go to a restaurant and they advertise as gluten free but I read a review that says “Says they have gluten free menu but it’s very limited and wasn’t great quality” More than likely, I’m not going to go there. So for me, reviews are very important, good or bad experience, write about it! You’ll be helping out more than you think.

Come back and check for Part Two (I’ll link it here when it’s posted!) for more travel tips!
3 thoughts on “Travel Tips: Part One

  1. Pingback: Travel Tips: Part Two | RetroSnowflakes

  2. I will right away grab your rss feed as I can not to find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Kindly permit me know so that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

    Like

  3. Please keep on posting these kinds of quality stories as this is a rare thing
    to find these days. I’m always searching online for
    blogposts that can assist me. Awaiting another amazing site.
    All the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

