Home » Updates » Why I want to read more.

Why I want to read more.

Reading is such a huge part of life, whether we want to admit it or not, we read every single day. We read databses in work, we read Twitter and Facebook, we read magazines, we read billboards, we read the ingredients on our foods in the supermarket. Reading is everywhere but the reading I’m focusing on is novels.

Why don’t I read?

I wish I had a truly good reason why I don’t. But I can’t give it to you. I’m tired, I don’t have time, I have other things to do, I need to be in the mood. Yes, all valid reasons, but I don’t want to put off reading forever. I’m always going to either be tired, or not have the time or have other things to do. I have to learn to priortise my goals in life.

If you read my latest Sunday Saves, I mentioned a post by Sweet Passions 07 and she talked about making time for reading and it’s something that I want to bring into my life and into my daily routine. 

So what am I going to do to fix this?
  1. I’m going to set a time.
    I get really tired when I start to read. That’s why the only time I truly read a book is when I’m about to go to bed. I’m going to try going to bed earlier for a start, and bring a cup of tea with me, and see how that goes first. I think setting myself a goal for half an hour a night isn’t too much and very achievable.
  2. Read through the books I have before I buy any more.
    I’m onto Rob Lowe’s second book “Love Life” at the minute, and I think I have about five new ones sitting back at home waiting to be read. If I give myself that limit of a “No Book Buy” until those ones are finished, it’ll possibly urge me to ge through those faster.
  3. Expand on my reading genres.
    I’m a non-fiction girl. As I said, I’m reading Rob Lowe’s second book, and the majority of books I have read have been autobiographies which is great and those are my favourites but I want to expand out more. I’m not a Harry Potter girl (Don’t kill me!) or a Lord of the Rings (I know, I know) or even Game of Thrones (I know, don’t kill me). I just want to find books that I enjoy, and I don’t want to force myself to read a Game of Thrones book if I’m never going to enjoy it.
I’ll check in in a month and update on my reading progress!
Leave a Reply

