Home » Health and Fitness » My First Yoga Birthday!

My First Yoga Birthday!

FYB

A few weeks before the end of 2014, I decided to go to a drop in yoga class because I was always interested in finding out about it. I went on my own (but I’m used to going on my own to new things now) and I met Chandra who took the class and I had a blast. I remember I really struggled with some of the poses (but who doesn’t at their first class?) but I actually really surprised myself too. It was such a relaxed atmosphere and in all honesty, I didn’t know what to expect, but it was something I knew I wanted to take further. So a few weeks passed and I didn’t see the point in beginning just before Christmas so I waited to the New Year and I signed up to a six week class with Chandra again, and I’ve been attending ever since.

The date of that first class was Monday 5th January 2015, so the 5th January is the date I’m calling my first yoga birthday!

I never knew what a positive impact yoga would have on me. Physical, mentally and spiritually. I go on Monday nights after work (Thankfully it’s just a thirty second walk from work too) and it makes Monday a little more bearable. I’ve seen such a change in myself over the past year; obviously it’s not a complete miracle worker and I have gone through a few things during the year but I haven’t thrown yoga to the side, I’ve went even when I haven’t been feeling my best, and it might not have made me a positive bunny, it still helped me a little, so that in itself is the sign of a great practice.

One of my New Year’s Resolutions this year is to advance further in yoga. I want to challenge myself more, I want to do more, I want to see how far I can push myself (within reach of course) and  as I reflect over the past year, I don’t know what I would ever do without it now.

2 thoughts on “My First Yoga Birthday!

  1. Pingback: SS: Sunday Saves (#19) | RetroSnowflakes

  2. Pingback: Why I Enjoy Yoga. | RetroSnowflakes

Leave a Reply

