Home » New Year's Resolutions » ♥ My 2016 New Year’s Resolutions ♥

♥ My 2016 New Year’s Resolutions ♥

Say what you will about New Year’s Resolutions, I can see it from both sides, but I think they’re so much fun and it has a little planning element to it, so I love it!

1) Go outside every day!
There’s some days where I don’t leave the house at all. I work a full time job so Saturday is normally my relaxing day and I don’t leave the house but I think even going for a fifteen minute walk would benefit me. Obviously if I’m really sick or if the weather looks like it could really blow me away, I won’t be stepping outside, but I want to make more of an effort to go outside for a little while on days where I’d be in the house all day.

2) Advance further in yoga.
As you’ll see from my 2015 Reflections (which will be linked here soon!), I came on leaps and bounds in yoga. It’s almost my yoga birthday and I don’t know what I would do without it now. I want to challenge myself even further in yoga though, and I’d love to be able to get up a little earlier in the morning to do some before work. Or even skip a Saturday lie in every once in a week, and have a good long session.

3) Save more money!
I started to save for a holiday to Canada then I started to dip into the fund around September, and it’s basically back down to it’s original amount. I have a few places I want to travel to this year as well as Canada hopefully in 2017, so I need to keep saving. I just need to figure out a reasonable amount every month that won’t make me feel like I have nothing left after rent, bills and other expenses.

4) Write every day in my One Line A Day book.
I bought myself a Q&A One-A-Day book two years ago and I missed out so much of it and I’m really annoyed with myself that I can’t go back to it seeing all the blank spaces. This is why it’s extra important that I keep this up (I don’t want blank spaces in this too!). If you haven’t seen it before, here’s a photograph from my Instagram.

5) Read more books!
So this feels quite similar to a resolution I had a few years ago, I think it was for 12 books and I didn’t succeed. I was going to set myself a goal of twelve books this year but I know if I just set myself “more” rather than a number, I might not be so hard on myself. I sometimes find it hard to read (I get very sleepy very fast) but I’m going to make a conscience effort this year.

6) Knit more!
Again, this is quite similar to the books. I don’t want to set myself on a number but I knit two (almost three) things last year so I want to pass that number with flying colours this year. I also want to try and advance myself a little too, maybe try something more difficult than the knit and purl stitch.

7) Keep up with my blog!
This was my resolution last year and I failed about 90% of it. I think if I blog what I’m passionate about then I’ll keep myself interested but it got to the point where I was just posting beauty favourites and I got really bored. This year will change that, I know it.

8) Learn a new language.
I disappoint myself knowing that I studied French for five years, including two years for GCSE but if you were to ask me to speak French, I would know the very very basics. I want to expand my language culture; I also plan on going to at least one new country this year so I want to learn their language, so even if I can learn the basics and build from that, I’d love that.

9) Spend more time with my boyfriend.
Okay, the ultimate cheesy one! We haven’t been together very long but we have so much planned to do together including starting Game of Thrones together, cook new meals, visiting new places. 2016 is just going to be such an exciting year and I can’t wait to share it with someone who is so wonderful. (Want me to hand anyone the sick bucket?)

Leave a Reply

