Home » Fitness » How has my yoga experience been so far?

How has my yoga experience been so far?

So this week seen the completion of my six week term of yoga that I signed up for at the start of the year. If you read my New Year’s Resolutions post, you’ll know what I wanted to try new things and practice more yoga so I signed up to a yoga class that had a six week term.

I went every Monday night after work and it was just down the street from my work, so it’s the perfect location and the perfect time. I wanted to try yoga more seriously because I wanted to become more flexible and be able to relax, because even though I have no house to pay for, no children, no “big” responsibilities basically, I still get very stressed out. I’m a huge worrier and I wanted to find something where I could relax, even just for an hour, and concentrate on my body rather than my head.

We do a deep relaxation and concentrate on our breathing for the first five to ten minutes at the start and end of each class. The first week, I made myself jump at the end because I dozed off. The second week, someone had to shake me gently to wake me up. Yep, I fell asleep during yoga. Everyone was lovely about it but it was slightly embarrassing. But hey, at least I was relaxed.

I can feel myself learning something new every week, we do a number of the same poses every week as well as new ones too but we try and advance them and stretch further with them. It’s not just a same old same old class every week, you do actually learn and feel yourself becoming better at yoga, which is what I wanted. I had tried yoga online before, but there’s nothing like going to a class and a teacher actually helping you into the pose. I went to the class on my own and it was actually a really big step for me. I’ve started going to more things on my own, and it is getting easier. It’s still scary but when I’ve been to most events, there’s always someone who will come and talk to you when they see you on your own.

I’ve signed up to another six weeks which start this Monday (but I’ll be going on Thursday night then going back to my Monday schedule) and I can’t wait to advance more in my poses. I can see a huge difference in the way I feel, even from just that one hour a week and apart from not wanting to wake up for work on Monday, I genuinely look forward to a Monday because of yoga. It’s my “me-time” slightly after the weekend and just to take a time out.

One thought on “How has my yoga experience been so far?

  1. Pingback: SS: Sunday Saves (#19) | RetroSnowflakes

Leave a Reply

