Home » Updates » My Health and Fitness Journey.

My Health and Fitness Journey.

As 2014 comes to a close, I wanted to post about my health and fitness journey over the past few years. 2014 by far, has been my healthiest year so far.

I won’t go into full detail about my entire life, but I’ll give just a jist (: In May 2012, I came home from a year of University and had piled on a lot of weight. Before I left in September, I was over weight and the fact that I’m pretty short, didn’t help matters. So the next few months were spent over eating along with watching Netflix constantly, not really socializing and not really exercising (apart from walking to and from class and to get my shopping). I came back in May, and decided to get my act together. I had a Nintendo Wii and had a game called “My Fitness Coach” and this had so many routines on it. You could change the location, add your own weights in, decide what type of exercise you wanted to do: yoga, lower body, core body etc. etc. It was the perfect home workout, and I used it about four or five times a week for months. When I eventually went back to college in September, I sometimes got up in the morning before I had to get ready and sneak in a quick session. I really loved it. I didn’t need a gym, I had my own home workout system that worked perfectly.

I got to the next May and I eventually got sick of being interrupted by my family when I was working out. When I was jumping around the living room, making a lot of noise, I guess it’s hard not to laugh but it got to the point where I was willing to travel to a gym rather than have to plan workouts when my family weren’t in the house or if it was early enough in the morning. So I joined the gym near to my college, it was the cheapest I could find and I know they say “you get what you pay for” but in all honesty, I love the gym I go to. It has loads of machines and the only wait you really have is for the free weight machines, but I can always cater my workout to work around busy machines anyway.

From May 2012 until April 2014, I lost 47lbs and on 14th April (2014) I hit my ultimate goal weight of 126lbs or 9st, and ever since I’ve been maintaining between 124lbs and 126lbs.Ā I’ve worked really hard to get there and I would like to lose maybe another half a stone but I’m not too focused on the numbers now, I can feel myself getting stronger and toned and to me, a set of scales will never be able to tell me that.

I plan to go into fuller detail on what I do at the gym, the type of foods that I eat and all that other stuff in future posts, but since a lot of my New Year goals are health and fitness based, I thought it would be a good basis to post a little about my journey before talking about those goals more in depth.

Leave a Reply

